Located in a Read more [...]
Past names of Jeoldusan Martyrs’ Shrine included Yongdubong (Dragon Head Peak) and Jamdubong (Silkworm Head Peak), but was renamed in 2000.
Jeoldusan Martyrs’ Shrine is the site of the Byeonin Persecution of 1866, where many Roman Catholics were brutally murdered.
This site was built to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Byeonin Persecution and to remember the spirit of martyrdom at Jeoldusan.
The Martyrs’ Museum and Martyrs’ Memorial were built in 1967, and in 1972 Martyrs’ Park was opened to the public. Pope John Paul Ⅱ visited in the site in 1984 and Mother Teresa visited in 1985.